Open calls and residencies

Opportunities for artists across Europe: open calls, residencies, awards and grants. Every listing carries its deadline, whether there is a fee, and the source it was checked against. When you decide to apply, Samlio turns the works you choose into the portfolio the form asks for.

Get the calls closing next, every other Tuesday.

To apply for (19)To go and see (11)
AllResidenciesAwardsGrantsExhibitions
EverywhereBelgiumSwitzerlandCzechiaGermanySpainFinlandFranceUnited KingdomItalySweden
Open now (19)Closed (0)
Residency·Paris, France3 days left

In Situ Residency 2027

Cité internationale des arts · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

Six months in a live-in studio in the Marais for artists in the first decade of practice, paid EUR 1,000 a month plus a EUR 2,000 production grant. One of the few Paris residencies that asks for English rather than French.

Residency·London, United Kingdom10 days left

Delfina Foundation x Gulbenkian Residency 2027

Delfina Foundation · No application fee stated on the organiser page.

A three-month London residency at Delfina Foundation for visual artists from Portugal and the Portuguese-speaking African nations. Open application, no nomination and no gallery needed.

Exhibition·London, United Kingdom15 days left

ROI Annual Exhibition 2026 — Royal Institute of Oil Painters

Royal Institute of Oil Painters / Mall Galleries · GBP 22 per work; GBP 14.50 for artists aged 35 or under. Selling commission is 45% plus VAT.

A juried open exhibition for oil painters at Mall Galleries with over GBP 10,000 in awards. Entry is paid and every accepted work must be for sale at 45% plus VAT commission — worth doing the arithmetic before entering.

Award·York, United Kingdom17 days left

Aesthetica Art Prize 2027

Aesthetica Magazine · GBP 25 per entry covering two works; GBP 35 for late entries between 12 and 18 October 2026.

A long-running open-entry UK prize with GBP 10,000 for the main award, a group exhibition and editorial coverage. It charges per entry and shortlists heavily, so the fee is the thing to weigh.

Award·Edinburgh, United Kingdom17 days left

RSA Blackadder Houston Mid-Career Painting Award

Royal Scottish Academy · Entry fee not stated on the organiser page. · Funded

GBP 20,000 to let a mid-career painter stop doing everything else for up to 26 weeks. Unusually, the award is explicitly aimed at artists whose practice is squeezed by employment or caring, not at the newly graduated.

Award·Edinburgh, United Kingdom17 days left

RSA Elizabeth Lornie Moving Image Award

Royal Scottish Academy · Entry fee not stated on the organiser page. · Funded

GBP 10,000 to research and produce new moving-image work, followed by an exhibition at the Royal Scottish Academy and acquisition into its permanent collection. Students are explicitly excluded.

Grant·Wiesbaden, Germany21 days left

Hessische Kulturstiftung Travel and Residency Scholarships 2027

Hessische Kulturstiftung · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

Among the largest per-artist grants in this calendar — five travel grants of EUR 25,000 and seven residency grants of EUR 12,500 to EUR 25,000 — but only for artists with a documented Hesse connection.

Award·Madrid, Spain21 days left

LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2027

LOEWE FOUNDATION · No entry fee stated on the organiser page as of 2026-09-23.

EUR 50,000 and a fifteen-member jury, open to any professional maker over 18 anywhere in the world. The strongest money-to-barrier ratio in this calendar for anyone working in applied-arts materials.

Residency·Madrid, Spain21 days left

Matadero Madrid — Three-Month Residencies for Visual Artists

Matadero Madrid · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

Four three-month studio residencies at Madrid's main public contemporary art centre, with workspace, funding, tools and institutional support. Open to visual artists based in Spain.

Residency·Rome, Italy22 days left

Villa Medici Fellows — Annual Selection 2027

Académie de France à Rome — Villa Medici · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

The twelve-month Rome fellowship at Villa Medici, open by competition to any nationality rather than by invitation. The French-language requirement is the real filter, not the nationality.

Residency·Paris, France24 days left

Trame Residency 2027

Cité internationale des arts · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

A three-month funded studio residency in Paris for artists with five or more years of practice, paying EUR 1,000 net a month plus a EUR 1,000 production grant. Ten places. French is required, which rules it out for much of the English-speaking scene.

Residency·Paris, France30 October 2026

Art Explora x Cité internationale des arts Residency 2027

Cité internationale des arts / Art Explora · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

A funded Montmartre studio residency of three to six months paying EUR 1,000 a month, with up to EUR 3,000 for production and travel to Paris covered. No age limit and no institutional backing needed, which is rarer than it sounds.

Award·Prague, Czechia5 November 2026

Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2027

Jindřich Chalupecký Society · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

The main Czech contemporary art award, and it takes open applications rather than nominations. No age limit, no citizenship requirement and no art degree needed — only that you live or work in the country.

Residency·Germany6 November 2026

European Media Art Platform Residencies 2027

European Media Art Platform (EMAP/EMARE) · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

Two-month production residencies at fifteen European host institutions, paying EUR 4,000 to the artist plus a separate EUR 4,000 production budget and free accommodation. The collaboration requirement is the catch: you cannot apply entirely alone.

Exhibition·London, United Kingdom20 November 2026

Pastel Society Annual Exhibition 2027

The Pastel Society / Mall Galleries · GBP 22 per work; GBP 14.50 for artists aged 35 or under. Minimum sale price GBP 400; commission 45% plus VAT.

A juried open exhibition in pastel and dry media at Mall Galleries, themed "Drawn To Colour", with over GBP 5,000 in prizes. Paid entry, and the framing and minimum-price rules cost real money before you are selected.

Award·Berlin, Germany7 December 2026

BBA Artist Prize 2027

BBA Gallery · EUR 39 early-bird entry fee; later entry tiers cost more. The fee is visible on the card because it is real money from an artist who may not place.

A Berlin open-entry prize with a named jury, cash awards from EUR 300 to EUR 1,000 and a solo show at BBA Gallery for the winner. It charges to enter, so it belongs on the list with the fee showing, not hidden.

Grant·Kiruna, Sweden31 December 2026

Kiruna 2029 — Test an Idea

Kiruna 2029 European Capital of Culture · No application fee stated on the organiser page.

The early-stage track of the Kiruna 2029 programme, and the only one an individual artist can enter alone. For ideas that might become commissions for the Capital of Culture year.

Exhibition·London, United Kingdom8 January 2027

RBA Annual Exhibition 2027 — Royal Society of British Artists

Royal Society of British Artists / Mall Galleries · GBP 22 per work; GBP 14.50 for artists aged 35 or under.

The largest single award in this calendar's UK open exhibitions: GBP 10,000 for excellence, within a prize pot over GBP 15,000. Open worldwide to anyone over 18, paid per work entered.

Residency·Mynämäki, Finland31 March 2027

Saari Residence — Open Call 2028

Kone Foundation · No application fee stated on the organiser page. · Funded

A funded Finnish residency open to any nationality, with a long lead time: the round for 2028 runs through March 2027. Two-month individual stays September to April, group stays in summer.

The newsletter

The ones closing next, in your inbox

Every other Tuesday: three calls closing within the fortnight, what each one pays, who it shuts out, and one thing you can do the same evening to be ready. Unsubscribe in one click.

What gets listed

This calendar is for artists who apply on their own behalf. No assistant, no gallery filing it for them. So we list what such an artist can actually enter, and leave out what she cannot.

Nothing invitation-only or nomination-only. Nothing that requires gallery representation to submit. Nothing restricted to enrolled students. Every listing is checked against the organiser’s own announcement before it appears, and where there is an entry fee the amount is on the card rather than four pages in.

There are aggregators with thousands of entries. This one is shorter on purpose.

Running an open call or a residency programme? Send it to rebecka@samlio.com and it will be checked and listed. There is no charge and no paid placement.